The Chronicles of Florence, Part IV – The Chruch

Florence only really has two things in its name – the Duomo and the Florence Cathedral.

And then they tell you that it’s actually the same thing.

And so Florence only really has one thing in its name.

It’s called the  Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore, and it’s the centerpiece of the Piazza del Duomo, which is the centerpiece of the city

To be honest, it was underwhelming when I was there. But that may be because it was cold and rainy (though the sun cooperated for the shoot, lol), I was alone and moody, and I was with a tour group. Never go with a tour group if you can help it. There are some circumstances in which you really need to, like Florence for me (I wanted to see the cityscape and you could only get there by bus or your own private transportation…I could afford a thirty euro tour much better than I could afford a sixty euro taxi ride. And it was more worth it, anyway. And the tour got me in to see David. But more on that later – ) or The Last Supper in Milan. But trust me, tours suck all the fun out of traveling, even if it’s a hell of a lot more informative.

Both Wendy from Wendy’s Lookbook and Jason Chen from miniachilles on Youtube went to Florence after I did.

And gosh, they make me want to go again.

But I know it’s just a result of good editing, and good company:

Travel Diary Part 1 :: Loving Italy & Style Lab | Wendy’s Lookbook

Summer Uniform :: White blazer & Comfy wedges | Wendy’s Lookbook

Don’t they make it look so much more beautiful than I do? I’m okay with that though – I’d be sad if I found it amazing and the pictures turned out poopy, but I found it….mildly poopy and the pictures turned out that way. So. Guess it just works with what actually happened.

And I’m okay with that.

I want to go back and re-edit all my pictures now.

Sigh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

