I’ve Realized That All Airports Generally Feel Exactly The Same…

I haven’t been on a nighttime flight in years. Aren’t all your memories of flying connected in some way to the unbelievably early, damp, cold summer mornings and the subsequent damp, cold drive to the airport? Or not. I’ve also never been in the airport at an off-peak time, and odd as it may seem, the lack of long lines and bustling people was actually quite off-putting.

Virgin Atlantic First Class

In any case. Virgin Atlantic (I’m a Continental kinda girl myself ^^) apparently has these ridiculous bed-like first class seats, with a built in ottoman and everything. Though honestly, wouldn’t it be more uncomfortable for your arms to be squished in like that? Not that one can flail about successfully in economy, but regardless.

It looked like some sort of rave. Or something. I don’t actually know what a rave is supposed to look like, so forgive the inaccurate reference…

Economy class, on the other hand, was super duper small. Of course, the flight was only six hours, so it hardly mattered. I got an aisle seat but the dude next to me was pretty much exactly four times my size and  I felt bad for him so I switched. Most of you are probably rolling your eyes and shaking your heads right now. Yeah. I know you.

This dude was traditionally English (is there even such thing?) as in he’s exactly what I pictured real-life Uncle Vernon to look like. Actually, now that I think about it…it’s perfect! He was this huge rotund English man with “hardly any neck” ;) and a huge mustache, his wife was tall and thin (though granted, I didn’t notice her neck much) and their son (well, one of them) was small and fat and just. Generally English looking.

…The other son had dreadlocks but I’m not sure what happened there.

The David guy on the other side of me (yay for airplane buddies!) was this thirty something year old photographer who was heading to Vietnam to shoot for Vietnam’s Next Top Model. And he wasn’t bullshitting either, he showed me some iPhone pictures of last season’s winner. Pretty cool.

He apparently used to be an i-banker who lost his job and decided to reinvent himself. Great.

Crappy Airplane Food is Crappy

Now I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve always felt that the airplane food on the way home or to Shanghai was always generally pretty acceptable. Not “good”, but edible. I hate to whine, but Virgin Atlantic food was the saltiest, sweetest, most odd tasting airplane food I’ve ever had, and I like to think that I’ve been on a good solid number of flights in my short lifetime.

The pudding looked good until it started smelling like bananas. Ew.

One bright spot, though – they had the cutest cans of Pepsi ever.

First Picture in UK!

Yeah, I did the tourist thing and took a picture as soon as I got off the plane. Bite me. Nothing interesting otherwise, just the usual standard picture of an airport. Which looks exactly the same as it would back home. Exciting, isn’t it?

Love Actually

London Heathrow Airport. The first thing I thought of?

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion… love actually is all around.  

Whoever knew that quote gets a cookie :) It’s from Love Actually, that star studded Christmas movie from a couple years back, remember it? I’ve never really been at an arrival gate of an airport for too long, and it’s kinda fun watching people meet their travelers – this one young couple was just straight up making out in the middle of the meeting point, another much older couple hardly showed any emotion, just a quick hug, and then tried holding hands but gave up (?). Another woman who had just arrived kissed each family member on the cheeks eight times each. Alternating four on the left, four on the right, multiplied by six family members. It was sweet but they kinda looked like pecking chickens.

And with that incredibly long and boring post comes the end of my very average airport journey, haha – it didn’t even feel like I was in a different country (though they seemed to be driving on the wrong side of the road…). Everything looks pretty much the same and people are speaking the same language, though in a…more accented way. Wow that sounded US-centered. Whoops!~

Onwards!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

