Broken Promises

Hi, everyone, it’s been a while..it feels like forever since I’ve been here…I mean, in reality I have been uploading drafts, but still. I promised myself at the beginning of this whole London adventure that I would post every day, no matter how tired I was or how boring my day turned out to be. And I haven’t. Not that any of you have any personal stake in my life here, but that’s the worst kind of broken promise…

Promises mean a lot, don’t they? When we’re young, we’re taught never to break a promise, that we should always come through on what we promise to others and to ourselves. Growing up meant that that doesn’t always happen, and we create other types of promises to emphasize the importance of what should be just a “normal promise” in the ideal world, despite the definition that says the (verb) definition of promise is: Assure someone that one will definitely do, give, or arrange something; undertake or declare that something will happen.

Personally, it’s the pinky promise – a sacred agreement between people that simply is not broken, no matter the circumstances, akin to the wizarding world’s “Unbreakable Vow”. Of course, nothing happens when you break a pinky swear, just that your credit is essentially lost until you earn it back. It’s pretty hard to earn back the trust lost on a broken pinky swear.

One of my most detested kinds of broken promises are those that you know he or she will break. You just know it. And in an effort to protect the sanctity of the promise (or the pinky swear, in my case) you actually tell him or her not to promise you whatever it was he or she wants to, and yet, they insist. And you must relent. And they break it, of course, as there are just some things you know can’t be kept a promise, either specifically by that person or just in general.

And he or she breaks the pinky swear. It’s just undermining the value I put on a pinky swear and its importance to me. It’s actually personally insulting, and if you think I’m absurd for thinking so, then that’s okay.

But that’s beside the point. Just something I wanted to say to the world in general. My point was that I broke a promise to myself, which is just as bad, if not worse. Sure, no one else is riding on you coming through, but you’re only hurting yourself.

So the point is…I have a lot lined up, and I will get back on track with this thing. Sorry for the rant you just read, it’s something that’s been bothering me for a while and I just wanted to share with the internet at large because that’s what we do in this day and age.

I hate broken promises. If you can’t come through, don’t say you can. It’s really quite simple.

Moving on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

