How …Nice.

I have a thing for country music. Maybe because it’s representative of a culture that I will never properly be a part of. Maybe it’s because representative of a country that despite everything, is actually home. Paradoxical, I know. Maybe that’s why I like it.

And I’m not talking Taylor Swift country either. Not like I know every word of every one of her songs. Even the unreleased ones. I blame Mike for that one. Not just the Taylor Swifts and Carrie Underwoods of country. More like…Randy Travis style. And I admit, Kellie Pickler and Lady Antebellum and Tim McGraw and such. And although they get pretty poppy sometimes, Rascal Flatts can get pretty up there, right?

So when I realized (quite late, actually) that Scott Yoshimoto had covered one of their songs…:D One of my favorites, actually, called Bless the Broken Road.

I set out on a narrow way many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road
But I got lost a time or two
Wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

Does no one else find that…alarming? This idea that there’s one thing at the end of the road that you’re suppose to get to, and that no matter what happens or what choices you make, you’re stuck with that (in this case, at least) person? Of course this is “bless” the broken road for a reason, and that as a member of the group of people who doesn’t exactly subscribe to that specific belief…..but still. People still believe that no matter what, there’s someone “perfect”, someone that, whatever you believe in, whether it be God, fate, true love, all that nonsense, will end up with you in the end.

Shudder.

That’s horrifying. No please.

That’s even worse than someone promising “forever”. You can’t even get out of this one if you tried.

Still a nice song though.

Here’s the original if you were interested:

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

