The Chronicles of Rome, Part II – The Spanish Steps

This might be embarrassing to admit, but I’m pretty sure I’ve admitted worse on this page, so. You know why I wanted to go to Rome so badly? It had little to do with the cultural history of the place, or the beauty or the etc. etc, it’s too early to romanticize about a place I can hardly remember I went to. You know why I wanted to go to Rome? Because Lizzie McGuire did it and she had a fantastic time.

THIS IS WHAT DREAMMMMS ARE MADE OFFFFFF….

And with that out of the way: Scalinata della Trinità dei Monti!

AKA The Spanish Steps.

Rome is really weird in a way – instead of having great big plazas and roads leading up to their most famous monuments, a lot of them are just kind of plopped in the middle of nowhere. First example: The steps. I mean, there is a square, but the main route that most people take is from the subway, and from there it’s like an alleyway until you reach the base of the steps, and even then you’re looking the wrong way. I kinda stood there, looking confused, until I turned around and the steps were behind me looming quite large over everything else, which was all quite cramped and small.

Odd.

The Trevi Fountain and the Colesseum are pretty much the same way too, just plopped next to a highway with thousands of cars whizzing past on a daily basis.

Anyway. The Spanish steps connect the Piazza di Spagna and the Piazza Trinità dei Monti, which is the church up top.

I mean, even my photos make the steps look pretty cool, but they’re actually rather…unimpressive in person.

They get better as the day gets darker, but at the end of the day, if I didn’t know they were the Spanish Steps, they’d just be…steps.

Sorry, tourists.

And there’s this thing at the bottom: Fontana della Barcaccia (English: Fountain of the Old Boat)

Didn’t even realize what it was until I had to come home and google it…



  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

