Movement.

It seems that these days anything can set off a bad case of the travel bug. I got it when Duncan (hi Duncan?) mentioned he’s going to LA for the weekend. Again when my friends talk about being abroad. When I look through my Instagram photos (the earlier ones, anyway, ones with Eiffel towers and Parthenons and carousels galore). And even, even when an author of one of the blogs I read said she’s boarding a Eurostar to Paris this weekend. I want to board a Eurostar to Paris this weekend! But no, this weekend I’m probably going to stay in my room at Rhodes, sit around Skyping people until I have to do homework, laundry, and the like. Listen to some music, catch up on TV shows, and all in all lead a very boring existence.

I feel like traveling is such a cliche “hobby”. I don’t consider it a hobby, really, it’s a bit of a cop out. Everyone likes to travel. Whether it’s for a day, a weekend, a month, or like Jason, years, everyone likes to change up the scenery every once in a while. Or all the time. And perhaps some people like exploring more so than traveling, and others simply like being pampered in a different locale. But at the end of the day, it’s all still travel. Going to the supermarket is travel. No one dislikes travel. Hush up, Tumblr.

The problem with being someone like me, though, is that I’m never quite satisfied with being anywhere. I don’t exactly want to be in one spot or one location as much as I want the freedom to be anywhere. Which lol I don’t know, is that a normal thing? If I stay anywhere for longer than three months or so I get antsy. I want to move. If I AM moving, I want to stay still. 

Is anyone else like this? Because I really, honestly feel like there should be a support group or something for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

